About

Illuminations is an outdoor research school. It is planned to be a breeding ground for thinkers from different countries, communities and academic cultures interested in common topics. We want it to become the melting pot of new ideas. Our task is to cooperate over texts, theories and concepts. Closing in the “native” community (indefinitely branched), limiting oneself to a “primitive territoriality”, the philosopher acquires shell and “roots”. We want to grow a rhizome. Adjusting to tastes and needs of the audience, to which a thinker is accustomed, she is increasingly removed from daily issues, answers to which become philosophical concepts.

The problem of “curved optics” and the experimental foundation isn't new in science and each discipline responds to it in its own way: sociologists have respondents, anthropologists have field studies, political scientists have political reality, physicians have patients, and urbanists have urban environments. Natural scientists, as Latour notes, initially work with “numb” things. What kind of “interlocutors” philosophy has in addition to other philosophers and laymen with their meaningless “opinions”? Is it possible to talk about specific “metaphysical experience”; is “experimental metaphysics” possible? It is sometimes stated that philosophy – as mathematics and the theory of natural sciences – must find itself in the realm of pure speculation. New “speculative” wave and ontological turn both disprove this old delusion, producing new hybrids of theories and practices, ontologies and epistemologies, speculations and materialisms, natures and cultures.

The school provides its experimentum crucis, i.e. to place well-known specialists, developing various projects, in an enclosed space and wait. Siberian forest should be a meeting place for ideas that could not meet elsewhere. The limited means of communication with the outside world (there is no Internet in the Tyumen forest) creates a situation, where everyone speaks for herself and not as a representative of her academic networks and hierarchical groups. We are working to ensure that the dichotomy of the periphery and center is no longer valid. We want to create a unique atmosphere which would be conducive to dialogue and collective writing in a perfect case. We believe that a hybrid theoretical project is more viable than rather anemic and fading theories with a good pedigree.

We want to create a productive intellectual environment on the borders of academia, which would cross it freely. We remember places, where an intellectual ferment took place in different epochs: from the French salons of the Enlightenment to the Viennese cafes of the early twentieth century. We want to gather in the Siberian outback a critical mass of researchers for at least one week. Illuminations changes people. We hope, for the better. And we invite you to check it out.

Tracks

School ethics

The basic principles of the school: the quality and openness of the presented theoretical projects.

  • A letter from Hogwarts

    The organising committee invites curators to participate in a closed competition, each of whom is free to completely determine one of the tracks: speakers, themes, frameworks for work. When choosing curators, our criteria are how elaborated your project is, how it is potential, innovative, large-scale and how consistent it is, as we call it. Such editorial policy allows to have a coherent narration, while remaining relevant and open. We are not limited to any discipline, gender, status, age or other formal framework. Motivation is important for us, as well as skills and willingness to engage in work on the project.

  • What is consistency?

    We believe that philosophy should not go away from everyday issues and become a manifesto. This means that a slender, convincing narrative, a willingness to listen and discuss, is more important than different types of performativity, disjointed speech or unsubstantiated statements. We are concerned with current topics, but we do not welcome the way of thinking associated with various forms of mystification and arrogant division of the world into philosophers and ordinary people. If a theory is not understandable to everyone who wishes to understand it, with certain efforts on his part, and if for its receiving it requires “special sensuality” or “an altered state of consciousness” - we will not work with such authors.

  • Care for your comfort

    The attitude of the school is to preserve the atmosphere of safety and calmness of participants. Criticism can be to any degree harsh when it is directed at thoughts, not at a person. For us, the right of everyone to their own decisions and respective consequences is important, but we will not tolerate coercion or other ways of establishing an authoritative hierarchy within the school space. We are against academic arrogance; public manifestations of racial, ethnic, confessional, gender and other forms of hostility; sexual harassment, stalking, bullying, as well as radical criticism from the “oppressed” using a minority, as a way of domination.

    We respect everyone’s right to privacy and will make every effort to realise it. The Organising Committee hopes that the participants will not violate these norms, but if necessary, measures will be taken, including: exclusion from a project, an impossibility of further cooperation and making the incident public, as well as other sanctions.

    We like homely and free atmosphere of the school, which we will definitely keep

Organizers

Igor Chubarov
Igor Chubarov
Director of the Institute of Social and Humanitarian Sciences at TSU, a member of the Editorial Board of Logos ()
Read more...
Elina Samokhvalova
Elina Samokhvalova
Advisor to the Director of the Institute of Social and Humanitarian Sciences of TSU ()
Read more...
Maksim Nee
Maksim Nee
Sociologist, an employee of the "Transnationalism and Migration Processes: Comparative and Institutional Analysis" Laboratory, St. Petersburg State University
Read more...

For any questions, please contact e.samokhvalova@utmn.ru

Terms of participation

School attendance is free.
The working language of the school is English.
Organisers cover accommodation (2-4 bed rooms in cottages), meals for entire school period, transfer from Tyumen to the venue and back
Anyone can apply, the only requirement is a full age (18 years)

Apply

In order to pass the competition and get the right to participate in the school, you have to write an essay on the main topic of one of the tracks.
The language of an essay is English. An essay should contain no more than 1000 words.

You must fill out a questionnaire and send an essay with the mark “Illuminations” to centernewphilos@gmail.com
Deadline application - July 15th.

Центр новой философии
SocГум
Тюменский государственный университет

О школе

Иллюминации — исследовательская выездная школа. Она задумана как питательная среда для мыслителей разных стран, сообществ и академических культур, заинтересованных общими темами. Мы хотим, чтобы она стала плавильным котлом новых идей. Наша задача: совместная работа над текстами, теориями и концептами. Замыкаясь в “родном” сообществе (сколь угодно разветвленном), ограничивая себя “примитивной территориальностью”, философ обрастает панцирем и пускает “корни”. Мы хотим вырастить ризому. Подстраиваясь под вкусы и потребности привычной аудитории, мыслитель все больше удаляется от тех жизненных проблем, ответами на которые становятся философские концепты.

Проблема “искривленной оптики” и опытного основания не нова — для науки, и каждая дисциплина отвечает на нее по-своему: у социологов есть респонденты, у антропологов полевые кейсы, у политологов — политическая реальность, у медиков — пациенты, у урбанистов — городская среда. У ученых в области естественных наук, как замечает Латур, изначально “немые” вещи. Что за “собеседники” есть у философии, помимо других философов и профанов с их ничего не значащими “мнениями”? Можно ли говорить об особом “метафизическом опыте” и возможна ли “экспериментальная метафизика”? Иногда заявляют, что философия, подобно математике и теории естественных наук - должна найти себя в области чистой спекуляции. Новая “спекулятивная” волна и онтологический поворот опровергают это старое заблуждение, производя на свет новые гибриды теорий и практик, онтологий и эпистемологий, спекуляций и материализмов, природ и культур.

Иллюминации предлагают свой experimentum crucis: поместить известных специалистов, развивающих различные проекты, в замкнутое пространство и подождать. Сибирский лес должен стать местом встречи идей, которые не смогли бы встретиться в другом месте. Ограниченность коммуникации с внешним миром (в Тюменском лесу нет интернета), создает ситуацию, когда каждый говорит сам за себя, а не как представитель своих академических сетей и иерархических групп. Мы работаем над тем, чтобы дихотомия периферии и центра ушла в прошлое. Мы хотим создать уникальную атмосферу, располагающую к диалогу и, в идеальном случае, коллективному письму. Мы верим, что гибридный теоретический проект жизнеспособнее все более анемичных и увядающих теорий с хорошей родословной.

Мы хотим создать продуктивную интеллектуальную среду на границах академии, свободно их пересекая. Мы вспоминаем о местах, где происходило интеллектуальное брожение различных эпох: от французских салонов эпохи Просвещения до венских кафе начала двадцатого века. Мы хотим собрать в сибирской глубинке критическую массу исследователей хотя бы на одну неделю. Иллюминации меняют людей. Мы надеемся, что к лучшему. И приглашаем это проверить.

Треки

Этика школы

Основные принципы школы: качество и открытость представленных теоретических проектов.

  • Письмо из Хогвартса

    Организационный комитет в рамках закрытого конкурса приглашает кураторов, каждый из которых волен полностью определить один из треков: спикеров, темы, форматы работы. При выборе кураторов мы руководствуемся проработанностью, потенциалом, новаторством, масштабом его работы и того, что мы называем консистентностью. Подобная редакторская политика позволяет иметь связное повествование, оставаясь при этом актуальными и открытыми. Мы не ограничиваемся дисциплинарными, гендерными, статусными, возрастными или иными формальными рамками. Нам важны мотивация, навыки и готовность включиться в работу над проектом.

  • Что такое консистентность?

    Мы полагаем, что философия не должна уходить от повседневных задач и становится манифестом. Это значит, что стройное, убедительное повествование, готовность слушать и обсуждать, важнее разных видов перформативности, бессвязной речи или бездоказательных заявлений. Нас волнуют актуальные темы, но мы не приветствуем образ мысли, связанный с различными формами мистификации и высокомерного разделения мира на философов и обычных людей. Если теория не понятна каждому желающему, при определенных усилиях с его стороны, а для её восприятия требуется “особая чувственность” или “измененное состояние сознания” - мы не будем работать с подобными авторами.

  • Забота о вашем комфорте

    Позицией школы является сохранение атмосферы безопасности и спокойствия участников. Критика может быть в любой степени жесткой, когда она направлена на мысли, а не на человека. Для нас важно право каждого на собственные решения и их последствия, но мы не потерпим принуждения и иных способов установления властной иерархии внутри пространства школы. Мы против академического высокомерия; публичных проявлений расовой, этнической, конфессиональной, гендерной и иных форм неприязни; секусальных домогательств, сталкинга, буллинга, так и радикальной критики со стороны “угнетенных”, использующих принадлежность к меньшинству как способ доминации.

    Мы уважаем право каждого на частную жизнь и приложим максимальные усилия для его реализации. Организационный комитет надеется, что участники не будут нарушать данные нормы, но в случае необходимости будут приняты меры, включающие в себя: исключение из проекта, невозможность дальнейшего сотрудничества и придание инцидента гласности, а также иные санкции.

    Нам нравится домашняя, свободная атмосфера школы, которую мы обязательно сохраним.

Организаторы

Игорь Чубаров
Игорь Чубаров
директор института социально-гуманитарных наук ТюмГУ, член редакционной коллегии “Логос”
Читать подробнее...
Элина Самохвалова
Элина Самохвалова
советник директора института социально-гуманитарных наук ТюмГУ
Читать подробнее...
Максим Ни
Максим Ни
Социолог, сотрудник лаборатории «Транснационализм и миграционные процессы: сравнительный и институциональный анализ» СПбГУ
Читать подробнее...

По всем вопросам обращайтесь e.samokhvalova@utmn.ru

Условия участия

Участие в школе бесплатное.
Рабочим языком школы является английский.
Организаторы покрывают проживание (2-4 - местные номера в коттеджах), питание на весь период школы, трансфер от города Тюмень к месту проведения и обратно.
Подать заявку может каждый, единственное требование — совершеннолетие (18 лет).

УЧАСТВОВАТЬ

Для того чтобы пройти конкурсный отбор и получить право участия в школе, необходимо написать эссе на главную тему одного из треков. Язык — английский. Объем — не более 1000 слов.

Работы оцениваются жюри из спикеров направления и внешних экспертов.
Дедлайн подачи заявок — 15 июля.

Центр новой философии
SocГум
Тюменский государственный университет